Speaker events and workshops

These will mainly be held on Zoom and attendees will be emailed the Zoom codes for the relevant sessions.


They are to encourage writing and to offer attendees an opportunity to try new writing styles. This is not a taught course.


These sessions are for members and people who participate in our monthly writing support groups and those who attended our one act play workshops.


For more detailed information about each speaker event/workshop (and for the Zoom codes) please email Kathryn at thebyrewriters@outlook.com 



Saturday 5th June at 10.30am

Online workshop: Shaping a killer first line- Wendy H Jones


Saturday 3rd July at 10.30am

Online workshop: Using dialogue in fiction- Sheena Macleod 


Saturday 31st July at 10.30 am

Online workshop: Flash Fiction - Why Every Writer Should Do It - Allison Symes

Followed by a Flash fiction competition (deadline 14th August)


Wednesday 11th August at 7.30pm

Online workshop: Ballad poems- Marc R Sherland


Tuesday 24th August at 7pm

Online feedback session- Share your work with others and receive constructive feedback on it. 


Saturday 28th August at 10.30am 

Online feedback session- Share your work with others and receive constructive feedback on it. 


Friday 3rd September at 10.30am

In-person session at Craigtoun Park: Nature writing- Matthew Knights


Scottish Association of Writers- summer competitions deadline 3rd September. 


Monday 20th September at 7pm

Online workshop: 3-5 minute sketch writing - Lisa Nicoll of In Motion Theatre


Saturday 2nd October at 10.30am

Online workshop: Memoir writing- Palo Stickland


Monday 15th November at 7pm

Online Q&A session: Role of an editor- Leonora Rustamova of Bluemoose Books


Saturday 20th November at 10.30am- open to non-members as part of Book Week Scotland

In-person event: Crime writing set in St Andrews- Marion Todd

Places are limited and must be booked in advance. 


Thursday 6th January at 7pm

Online event: Writing fiction for magazines- Lucy Crichton, Fiction Editor for People's Friend


Saturday 5th February at 10.30am

In-person event: Role of a publisher Q&A with Jo Chumas of 8d Press

Places are limited and must be booked in advance


Saturday 5th March at 2pm

In-person event: Role of the Playwrights Studio Scotland with Louise Stephens, Creative Director

Places are limited and must be booked in advance


Saturday 30th April at 10.30am

In-person event: Editing workshop with Alan Gillespie

Participants on the folklore project have priority of places. 

Places are limited and must be booked in advance.


Saturday 28th May at 10.30am

In-person event: Storytelling skills workshop with Sheila Kinninmonth

For participants on the folklore project only.





Popular posts from this blog

Monthly writing support groups

Welcome